• AJG (English)
  • » Informations
  • » news » Nomination of candidates for “Masatoshi YOSHINO Award 2023” of the Association of Japanese Geographers (AJG)

Nomination of candidates for “Masatoshi YOSHINO Award 2023” of the Association of Japanese Geographers (AJG)

“Masatoshi YOSHINO Award” is presented to mid-career or senior individuals who have internationally achieved outstanding research results in climatology, to fulfill the wishes of the late Masatoshi Yoshino (Professor Emeritus of the University of Tsukuba), an honorary member, with the funds donated by his bereaved family to the AJG. Individual nominees are accepted regardless of nationality, including from members as well as non-members of the AJG. The award is granted to one individual per year. The research areas of successful nominees should be related to one of the following sub-fields of geographical climatology / climate geography: micro climatology; historical climatology; disaster climatology; climate change; and climatology related to human activities, monsoons, or geoecology.

The nominee is selected from nominators consisting of three researchers (at least one nominator should be the AJG member) and is nominated at the General Meeting of the AJG. At least one of the three nominators must belong to a different research / educational institution than the other two (honorary and last former positions could be considered). The award winner will be announced at the General Meeting in March 2024 and will receive a medal and a prize of 100,000 yen. The award ceremony and award commemorative lecture will be conducted in a meeting to be held in September 2024 or March 2025.

We welcome nominations along with recommendation letters from three members of the AJG only. Self-nominations are not permitted.


April 2023

Kenji Hashimoto

Board of Chairman of the Association of Japanese Geographers



Nomination form: Download 

Unsuccessful nominees will remain on the committee’s active list for the next two years for future selection. The recommender can update the information of the unsuccessful nominee the next nomination of the award.

Send to: Secretariat of the Association of Japanese Geographers (office@ajg.or.jp)

* Documents should be e-mailed as PDF files

Deadline: June 30, 2023



Bylaws for the Yoshino Award of the Association of Japanese Geographers (in Japanese) 

List of the previous recipients of the Yoshino Award

  • Tags :
  • Category : news
  • Posted : 2023/04/14