Nomination of candidates for “Masatoshi YOSHINO Award 2021” of the Association of Japanese Geographers

“Masatoshi YOSHINO Award” is presented to mid-career or senior individuals who have internationally achieved outstanding research results in climatology, to fulfill the wishes of the late Masatoshi Yoshino (Professor Emeritus of the University of Tsukuba), an honorary member, with the funds donated by his bereaved family to the AJG. Individual nominees are accepted regardless of nationality, including from members as well as non-members of the AJG. The award is granted to one individual per year. The research areas of successful nominees should be related to one of the following sub-fields of geographical climatology / climate geography: micro climatology; historical climatology; disaster climatology; climate change; and climatology related to human activities, monsoons, or geoecology.

One recipient will be selected from those recommended by three AJG members and will be commended at the General Meeting of the AJG. The recipient will be presented with a medal and supplementary prize (100,000 JPY). The award winner will be announced at the General Meeting in March 2022. The award ceremony and award commemorative lecture will be conducted in a meeting to be held in September 2022 or March 2023.

We welcome nominations along with recommendation letters from three members of the AJG only. Self-nominations are not permitted.

April, 2021
Takashi Oguchi
Board of Chairman of the Association of Japanese Geographers


  • Nomination form: Download 
  • Unsuccessful nominees will remain on the committee’s active list for the next two years for future selection. The recommender can update the information of the unsuccessful nominee the next nomination of the award.
  • Send to: Secretariat of the Association of Japanese Geographers (
  • * Documents should be e-mailed as PDF files.
  • Deadline: June 30, 2021

  • Tags :
  • Category : news
  • Posted : 2021/04/10